Natural Areas in Waterloo Region

When I was in my third year into my Undergraduate program (Environmental Science) at the University of Waterloo I did an interesting project for that year’s thesis. Naturalist guru Larry Lamb in the Ecology Lab and I wrote a guide to the natural areas under the supervision of Prof. Greg Michalenko. We called it Quiet Spaces. It was probably the most fun and the hardest work I did during my four years at the U of W. We came up with a list of natural areas and picked the 20 best from the wealth of sites available within the ecologically rich Waterloo Region. My personal favourites are the Sudden Tract (#18), F.W.R. Dickson Wilderness Area (#20) and Natchez Hills (#6) but anyone living in the area would not be wasting their time by visiting them all. Each one has unique attributes.
Larry and I hoped that a corporate group would publish the guide that we had worked so hard at. But, unfortunately, it didn’t happen. Larry still works at the U of W and still hands out photocopies of our guide but it never went beyond that.
Now, over 20 years after, I’ve found the time to format the guide in html and publish it on my sympatico account web space here. It deserves a better and more permanent home. I have pictures too but they would probably fill my sympatico quota too fast to attempt. If anyone out there has a good home for it, I would gladly fix up the code and even add in the pictures if desired.