The Tale of the Bunny on Paul Avenue

On a walk last night I saw something scurry out on Paul Avenue in the corner of my eye. My glasses weren’t on and I assumed it was a mouse as it was so small. It ran toward the curb on the opposite side.
I put on my glasses and I saw it was a small, baby bunny with grey and brown fur and tiny ears laid back on its wee head from fear. Why that would be became readily apparent as a raven swooped down but failed to grab it.
The cottontail ran at the curb with its head down and bounced back. I walked out on the road and the raven perched itself up on a pole, I presume, to wait me out. As I came closer the rabbit sprinted left so I stopped. It then ran back toward me and then right from where I stood. Finally it came back again and ran into the curb once again. That may have stunned it a bit as it didn’t scamper away when I set my open palm down beside it and shushed at it.
Then, to my surprise and that of a lady who had stopped to watch, the rabbit crept into my hand and actually cuddled into it! Did it know I was keeping the raven away? Whatever the cause this was the cutest entity I’ve held in my hand for quite a while: since when my children were young.
I stood up and it wormed its way, trying to hide, into my fleece jacket at the crook of my arm, first on the left and then across to the right. The bunny pushed its head in there so far that its rear legs were splayed out upside down against my arm.
A young girl from the side of the street that I had come from asked for the bunny but her father refused saying they already had enough with the cat. In fact, the girl discovered that said cat was stalking yet another baby bunny under a neighbour’s car. The man chased the feline back into his house. Then the lady and the man both confirmed that there were lots of bunnies in his backyard so I set the rabbit down near his gate to the back and it went straight for it.
And that’s how I left the bunnies on Paul Avenue.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tale of the Bunny on Paul Avenue

  1. Jeannette says:

    This could be a start for another beautiful story don’t you think!!!

Leave a Reply

