Food for the Fire

Cassie stood up
a little drunk
and announced to our table
in the restaurant
that

Food to women
is fuel
and enjoyment.

Not to be outdone
Phil raised his beer
which he might have thought
meant he was upright
and returned

Food to men
is fuel
and something to fart with.

I
when I’d finished laughing
made my own speech
make shift

Fuel to cars
is food
for Climate Change.

Dead quiet was
understating the lack of sound.

Too soon?

They all nodded
seriously
and I sat back down
admonished
embarrassed
lesson learned.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

