Community Bike Shop Dream

Slow to take
me in
Noah finally turns around.
He grins.
“Hey Mr. T. You’re next.”
He’s so matter of fact.
Even with five years
since last meeting he
remains quiet and
not effusive as he deals
with the customer before me.
Pulling the connecting hoses from
his delicate looking
pack he smiles at
his departing customer.
“Long time no see.”
He lets the hoses drop
to swing
as he offers his large hand.
It’s a genuine hand shake
only a little oily
and held for just
long enough to renew
friendship.
“Are you a customer today or
here to chat?”
“Both.”
His eyes slid over my
dilapidated bike.
Before he can comment I sneak in.
“It’s my beater.
Doesn’t matter what I buy
it just gets wrecked.”
“I remember. You are hard on bikes.”
“So what does this do?”
I point at his pack
which had circuit boards
terracing out from pockets and holes
in the main canvas covered pack.
“Oh. I just modded
my own soft computer.
You know,
like a wearable computer,
it doesn’t do much yet,
just podcasts sent through
when I’m working alone
or alerts.”

He’s looking down
and has my beater in a stand
and found my problem
already
my loose brake cables
and
is already cutting my old
and pulling in new.

I bike away
twenty minutes
later
but
a virus from Noah’s wearable computer
steals my ident
and I’m biking
biking
biking
lost and amnesiac
biking
for days
and days
never ends.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

