Wild and Woolly Find on Starkey Hill

I found a colony of a small, weird organism on a young beech tree as I was climbing up Starkey Hill. Each individual was tufted white with one particular long white hair and it, bizarrely, waved back and forth from a brownish/black base. I guessed it was some kind of insect but it didn’t look like anything familiar. In fact, the waving back and forth reminded me more of a marine organism.
A naturalist friend of mine confirmed that it was some kind of Woolly Apple Aphid.
You can check out other sites for them here or here

Here’re my pictures:

20121014-165448.jpg

20121014-165423.jpg

20121014-165512.jpg

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wild and Woolly Find on Starkey Hill

  1. tgrignon says:

    My friend Charlie the naturalist was able to find out more about this insect. It’s actually the Beech Blight Aphid. There’s more here:

    http://bugguide.net/node/view/240499

Leave a Reply

