Deciding against Code Collapse in SQL Server Management Studio 2008

A very annoying feature, which is automatically on, is the Code Collapse for editing T-SQL code.  I have complex code for which it rarely adds anything valuable. Also, I like to choose rows over on the left by the line numbering and was forever getting fouled up in the collapse boxes.
I looked many times in Options without discovering how to turn it off. Thank God I found this link where Buck Woody explains how to do it.
Just in case Buck’s post goes away I provide the magical invocation here:

Tools > Options > Text Editor > Transact-SQL > Intellisense > uncheck Outline statements

It takes effect without even having to reopen the tabs already opened.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deciding against Code Collapse in SQL Server Management Studio 2008

  1. Scott says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
    I copy/paste and run single sub sections constantly.
    This “feature” is very annoying.

    FWIW, I cannot deal with the Intelli-NON-sense at all, I find it so distracting.

    Just turned it ALL OFF!

Leave a Reply

