Centipede

Centipede
We found this monster centipede in our home crawling up the wall behind the TV last week. The Wikipedia page we found (thanks Brandon) indicates a maximum size of 2 inches or 50 mm but this one we caught seemed much larger than that (perhaps they were measuring the body and not including those incredibly long legs).

When I caught it the thing kept lunging at the bottom of the large glass tumbler at my hand with disconcerting speed. I managed to get a lid on the glass and released it outside at the end of my dead-end street.
Of course, now I know what it eats from the Wikipedia article:

House centipedes feed on spiders, bedbugs, termites, cockroaches, silverfish, ants and other household arthropods. They administer venom through modified legs.

Hmmm. Maybe they’re not so bad after all. And I would be promoting an interesting ecosystem in the house (Ecology literally means “study of the house” right?) Maybe if I read Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach to my wife she’d consider going on a hunt at the end of our street for a new pet!

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

