The Tale of Despereaux

This animated ‘new’ fairy tale is from the book by Kate DiCamillo and is beautiful to experience. The Renaissance art influences are wonderful to simply bask in as you watch. I won’t dwell too much on historical inaccuracies like some since, after all, it is a fairy tale. I thought the plot elements involving the serving girl Miggery Sow (Tracey Ullman) were weak and didn’t especially add to the flow but that isn’t nearly enough to keep me from enjoying and buying this DVD.
I have placed Kate’s book on hold at the library as I want to see the source for this interesting story. I’m especially interested in seeing how she treats with Despereaux since he seems ultra brave and incapable of cowering at the beginning (like Reepicheep in the Chronicles of Narnia) but seems to change quite a bit when confronted with the nasty cat in the Rat Dungeon.
Still, very worthwhile.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

