Inspiration = Resignation

Here’s a quote from a favourite author:

You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.
Jack London

If he was referring to inspiration for writing (and I think I can assume that) then I agree that waiting is a bad thing. But I think the club gives the wrong idea. For me, writing is a long slog which takes an incredible amount (often years) of grunt work. Lots of scribbling, lots of typing, lots of reading and lots and lots of editing.
And the inspiration is found within many small jewels of realization, often accidental, as I slog.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration = Resignation

  1. leafless says:

    Writing is a lifelong commitment. Inspirations can provide temporary reliefs, but ultimately we have to carry on with or without them.

Leave a Reply

