Falling

Fall is officially here and I can feel it in the mornings when I bike to work. I wear a jacket and gloves to work but usually have them off when I return home. The days are beautiful, though, with wonderfully blue skies and warmth in most afternoons. The weather just seems so screwed up lately. I mean with so much rain and cool days this summer and now beautiful days for the fall. Since it is only day to day weather it’s difficult to judge whether this is global warming or not. Of course Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth shows alarming evidence for warmer summers coming more often but this summer is an aberration that way. But I think it’s only a weird oddity and that Global Warming is going to be an unenviable fact for our children’s and grand children’s lives.
As we’re in an election here in Canada, we’ve been hearing a lot about the environment. I’ve heard a lot of criticism about the proposed carbon tax of the liberals. The NDP and Green’s have similar ideas. I’m not sure about the PC’s but I wouldn’t trust them to follow through anyway. I feel strongly that any avoidance of a carbon tax or pollution penalty is so irresponsible as to be near criminal. There will have to be some kind of economic reckoning soon no matter what we decide. Certainly we will be faced with our children thinking we have been incredibly selfish and shortsighted. I’m positive they’ll be in the midst of having to be make far more devastating sacrifices for our lack of responsibility for our tiny, crowded planet.  So as we move into the season of fall I think about the biblical fall and how, perhaps, it might be actually a prophecy and not an account of the past.  Maybe we’re losing our paradise right now because of our sins of failed stewardship.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

