Finished my novel

Three words I didn’t expect to say. But now I can. Actually I’ve been finished for a while but I’ve been editing it so saying it’s finished sounds wrong but the main writing effort is done. I have read the whole thing through for continuity and made quite a few corrections but that wasn’t enough. I’m halfway through reading it out loud to the boys and I’ve caught more errors and other issues. That whole oral process of telling your story aloud to an audience (even if it is a small one) is an excellent way to find issues. Speaking of my audience, they seem to like it so far but they are not the harshest of critics. Once I’m through this stage I’ll be giving it out to some serious target readers. I’m looking forward to hearing what they have to say about it.
One of the biggest problems was knowing where to cut the book off. I did take a chunk out of the first book and put it in a file for the second book if I ever get that far. There are, I think, enough ideas for a trilogy but that decision is down the road a bit.
I plan to self-publish. I have friends who have done that and I like the idea of the control you have. I also have friends who’ve had problems going with a professional publishing company. These days, I feel, authors are treated very much like commodities. I don’t like the idea of being a cog in a corporate machine. I’m not under any illusions that this book must bring me fame and fortune. If it does and I do it myself than so much the better. But if it doesn’t then I will treat it the way it should be treated: as a stepping stone to improving myself as an author.
While I’m going through the throes of publishing I’m planning on working on a short story in an entirely different vein. I am planning it as a break.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

