Surviving Extreme Altitudes

As I was doing a little research on the effect of high altitude on humans I came across this article and I was amazed at the anecdote about a young man from Cuba who had stowed away in the wheel well of a jet airliner bound for Spain in 1969. Just to put it into perspective, Everest is almost 9 km above sea level and few have been known to be able to work at that height for longer than 15 minutes without extra oxygen. Our blood just can’t absorb sufficient oxygen at that height. This airliner probably cruised at between twice and three times that height. A truly remarkable story.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

