The best country song ever written and performed

I’ll admit that I’m no expert or super fan or anything of country music. In fact, I’m not at all. But this song shines forth, in my mind, as an exceptional example of the genre. It deals with love, tragedy, hurting, the gulf between the sexes and the outdoors. There aren’t any trucks, Moms, Acheys or Breakeys involved but there are henchmen, ponies, monkeys and wolves.
I am talking, of course, about Jonathan Coulton’s incredible epic Skullcrusher Mountain. Just take a listen and you’ll see what I mean. You can hear it for free by clicking on the above link. Like all country ballads it has twists and turns in the lyrics that set it above normal songs. Take the line:

I’m so into you
But I’m way too smart for you
Even my henchmen think I’m crazy
I’m not surprised that you agree

Wow! Talk about fathoming the unexplored depths of a true hurtin’ song. The song really puts me in the guy’s shoes, y’know. I wish I had a golden submarine…

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

