The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

I listened to Roald Dahl’s The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar on a Harper Audio CD and, as I expected, I was impressed. The man was and remains among my favourite authors and David Suchet does a superb job in bringing it to life.
This short story is written in such a clever way so that it sounds like it is an actual account. The main character ‘Henry Sugar’ finds a hand written account about an Indian man (Imrat Kahn) who disciplines himself so he can see without using his eyes. The story influences Sugar to achieve the same skill but this takes a great deal of discipline and results in changing the man in ways he can’t anticipate. In a metaphor to how hard work and discipline can be their own reward, the listener or reader is left with the conviction to better themselves and a wonderful hope that the miraculous can happen. That is true, I think, in real life too.
Very worthwhile reading or hearing!

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

