Mistakes Made

That might be a good epitath for me. It applies. In fact I would say it is one of the pillars of my personal philosophy. You get nowhere without making mistakes and things that come naturally will eventually let you down. If you have a gift, great, but don’t expect it to blossom into genius or expertise if you don’t set about learning all the possible mistakes. I have my favourite quotation pinned to the wall where I work:

An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field.
-Niels Bohr

Ain’t that the truth! I listened to another TWiT podcast last night while I did dishes. Patrick Wilson, the drummer from Weezer, was a guest and he said some interesting things that apply to any creative work and really encouraged me. Here’s the paraphrased gist:

Stop worrying about technical details and just write a song. And then keep on writing more songs. Don’t obsess over one: you’ve made mistakes. Move on. That’s how you really improve your craft.

Amen!

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

