Alleluiaholics

In the Roman Catholic rite the season of Lent is notable by the absence of the word “Alleluia” from services, even on Sunday masses. I find this a little odd since I was under the impression that Sundays are not part of Lent (Sundays don’t count in the 40 days of Lent anyway). It is interesting that the eastern rites do not ban Alleluia according to the Wikipedia article link above.
So anyway the point is that I miss that ancient word of praise during Lent and really like to let loose with it on Easter. It’s a great feeling. I used the term Alleluiaholic with family and friends yesterday to describe those, like myself, who enjoy the unbridled use of Alleluia that I was allowed both at the exquisitely candlelit Vigil last night and the Easter service today. I was drunk with alleluias. Don’t know if I invented it or not but it does fit for me and it was worth a few laughs.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

