The miraculous journey of Edward Tulane

I borrowed The miraculous journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo (author of Because of Winn-Dixie) as a book on CD from the library. I was drawn by the gorgeous cover art by Bagram Ibatoulline of a small, well-dressed bunny walking toward a well-lit human-sized house at night. I’m glad I did as I found something I didn’t imagine possible: a toy bunny story at least as good as Marjory Williams’ 1922 renowned children’s book The Velveteen Rabbit. This book is a more mature version with Edward, and the listener, discovering what it means to love along his wanderings. The bunny cannot move and can only passively witness people and events; it is what he and we see along the way that affects us.
Judith Ivey reads and manages to seamlessly give each character their separate voice in a wonderful performance. Recommended highly to those who aren’t afraid of some tears.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The miraculous journey of Edward Tulane

  1. girljordyn says:

    Hey I just reviewed this book on my blog! And I agree, it was definitely an amazing book.

Leave a Reply

