Stranger than Fiction

Although I was intrigued by the reviews for Marc Forster‘s Stranger than Fiction it took until now for me to see the movie. On the strength of Will Ferrell‘s performance in Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby which we already own, my wife bought this later DVD on Friday.  I’ve seen it 2.5 times already.  The intensity of Emma Thompson deserved an Oscar and I thought Maggie Gyllenhaal was fantastic.  Will Ferrell is simply outstanding…  a revelation really.  And I’d love to have Dustin Hoffman as an English prof or a lifeguard, too.
The directing, though, is amazing. Forster is a force to be reckoned with… and he’s taking on one of the most interesting books I’ve read lately and releasing it in December: The Kite Runner. Go Marc! I can’t think of any element in the film that wasn’t right on — that wasn’t perfect. Every aspect is so well thought out, filmed, set, cast and edited that the movie seems new every time I see it.
This film has a lot to say about one of my favourite themes: living life to its fullest. But it also embraces other themes: creative writer’s block, the importance of properly accessorizing a man, the coolness of thought-flow expressed as white GUI, the importance of giving flours to a lady and I could go on.
A must see and certainly one of the best I’ve seen this year.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stranger than Fiction

  1. jay says:

    I’m watching the movie while reading your helpful review (found on summize). I agree with your summary. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: The Kite Runner « Golbing

  3. Pingback: Being There « Golbing

  4. CMrok93 says:

    Some of Will Ferrell’s biggest fans might find it overly tame and subtle, but it’s interesting, enjoyable and a revelation to see he can keep his pants on and still entertain.

Leave a Reply

