Four Dark Little Mice

Little dark mice
scramble at my approach
so fast
so eager
to get to work
I
ring my bell
but not for the mice
so hardly seen
it’s the mallards that warrant.

I see them most
lurking at the back
of the 50’s restaurant
smoke for generous short order
beside the
path perched
by the river.

They run for it and some
fly ahead.

But I’ll only slow down
if I see the mice
but should I
perhaps
rethink my position?
Why speed to work?
Why not lean the bike against
the wall
and join the mice
and short order?

But I’m not
I realize
so self assured
they may not like my puns
my sweaty demeanor
my sophistique.

Scurry then
you stay verminous
I’ll clench at that bit.

-2007/07/18-

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

