Drifting after the Flood

Years of papers odd
and plastic ends
surround me as I sort,
sift and drift

this basement flood
has dredged
my life
with its findings.
I’m drenched in time
and none too guilty
as I dispose
of it all.

A little soaked.
A little saved.

Look at this kids!
They may feign interest
but not really.
Can I do day by day?
Have I learned,
soaked up,
too much?
not enough?

Back to the dusty spot
by the bins outside
I soft
I sift
I drift

I find an old poem
and rejoice
the prodigal is found! saved!
Kill the fatted calf!

-2007/07/01 Canada Day-

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

