The Greatest Game Ever Played

I watched Disney’s The Greatest Game Ever Played directed by Bill Paxton just now and enjoyed it tremendously. I’m not much of a golf fan but found this movie really brought me into the head of a true golfer. That single mindedness and ability to focus on the goal. A very well done movie.
I was impressed, as ever, by Shia LaBeouf who played a real historical personage of Francis Ouimet the 20 year old amateur winner of the US Open in 1913. Shia was good here as he was in Holes which is a very good movie and an even better book. Stephen Dillane who played golf great Harry Vardon was also impressive and riveting on the screen.
One of the most interesting features on the short list of special features on the DVD is a description of that historical 1913 US Open by Mr. Ouimet himself. Wonderful to watch, even if you aren’t a golf follower (take it from me).

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

