The newer Emma

I golbed not too long ago about the 70’s movie version of Emma and now I want to provide my thoughts on the newer version or the “Gwyneth Paltrow” version. Of course, the 1972 mini series had 240 minutes to cover the book and so there is supposedly double the detail in it. But I thought the newer version had a better pace and brought the plot to the audience much more readily. Jeremy Northam plays Mr. Knightley extremely well although I think he should have been older looking. He is supposed to be quite a bit older (as is obviously cast in the 1972 version). Of course Gwyneth doesn’t look that young either but certainly ‘plays’ the role younger.
I’m a huge Jane Austen fan and was happy to spend time with both but if you have little time I’d recommend the 1996 version.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

