Critics

This is really out of my league since I haven’t been criticized about my writing since school, but it’s a fun quote by Christopher Hampton. I thought I’d share it with you.

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics is like asking a lamppost how it feels about dogs.

I wonder how true that is? There are good and bad critics, sure. But I don’t think a writer really creates in a vacuum. There must be some sounding board. Someone who keeps raising the bar and making the writer work for his living. I think of Salinger and other writers who only really create one major work and then fall into obscurity. Maybe it’s because they don’t have the right critic to keep them working hard. Maybe they only had one story in them. I wonder.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

