The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

To say that The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is a chick flick is an understatement. This is a movie that engages empathy, fashion, a pair of jeans that miraculously fit everyone, etc. Lots of tugging on heart strings and girl humour and … it was OK. Guys have different expectations from movies than girls do… we’re different. I would never pay for this movie but my wife and daughter might. I borrowed it from the library for my daughter and it made me just so appreciated and look so caring! In other words, nothing like the real me!
All that being said, I did like the Bailey character and the interaction with Tibby. I can see some of the ennui and adolescent cynicism of Tibby in my own daughter. Thankfully, I don’t think it will take someone like Bailey and her problems to change her; she is already on the road to her own maturity. I did like the quiet and artistry of the Lena character too although I’m not a huge fan of Alexis Bledel (her character on the Gilmore Girls is so unrealistic, it’s Annoying); I think her being told to tone things down in this role helped her. I couldn’t identify with the other characters… guys are just too impatient, perhaps. I kept thinking… ‘Carmen… get on with it!’
I suppose a movie about the Brotherhood of the Traveling Pants would be very different and involve temples of doom, millennium falcons and several rings that rule everything. Sigh! But what a great movie that would be!

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

