Lonely Road

The following is a quote from the song Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day

I walk a lonely road
The only one that I have ever known
Don’t know where it goes
But it’s home to me and I walk alone

Interestingly enough I heard this on the tinny speakers in a grocery store today. Of course many songs by Green Day have become mainstream as this band blurs the line between their punk roots and their populist songs. I think Billie Joe Armstrong, the lead singer, is an excellent songwriter and deserves his popularity.
But I got to thinking about the words themselves as I did my shopping. What do they mean?
I suppose I could say that Billie Joe is referring to everyone. That we are all different and individual (although I’m tempted here to add one of the funniest jokes in a movie, IMHO, here it is direct from Monty Python’s ‘Life of Brian’ and in response to the preceding question: ‘I’m not!’) OK. So we’re all different (Except me!)
If everyone is saying that, then it doesn’t really mean anything. Does it, perhaps, mean that no one is going to walk my ‘lonely road’ for me? Or that I must live my own life? Well that’s just the way things are! Aren’t they?
Is Billie Joe trying to single himself out as a loner on the road of life? A loner as opposed to all the ‘non-loners’ out there? But is that true? I certainly disagree, his life is a public one. Far more public than mine or nearly anyone I know. Maybe he wishes it was a little more lonely.
Help me out? Is it fame that is the ‘lonely road’ for him?

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lonely Road

  1. narendra says:

    i want this song

Leave a Reply

