Eragon Doesn’t Soar

I saw the movie Eragon over the holidays and was disappointed. Christopher Paolini, the young author, should be frustrated if he received a percentage deal for the movie rights because I don’t think it will do as well as the story deserves. The best parts of the book were, I think, the relationships between the characters. Like the friendship between Eragon and the dwarf Orik, or the fascinating meeting with Angela and her were-cat companion, or the conflict with the Varden’s Twins. These were practically, if not completely, nonexistent in the movie. Brom was reasonably played by Jeremy Irons (his characterization probably the closest to the Brom in the book but, believe me, the two are still far apart.)
If I had one criticism of the book I would say the magic comes too easily to Eragon. There should, I think, be a lot more to it. But in the movie, it’s absurd. It’s like ‘poof’ and he’s suddenly a magician.
This movie strikes me as a quick attempt at a money grab. The Potter fans flock to see their films so shouldn’t Eragon fans? But at least the Harry Potter films stay grounded in the main plot of the book. Eragon is just a departure from the book and not a particularly good one… just like the poor adaptations of Earthsea and Riverworld.
If you must see it, my advice is to wait until it’s cheap at your local DVD borrowing facility (it shouldn’t take long).  The way this one ends I have my doubts about how they’re going to tie in with the next book called Eldest and I wouldn’t pay to go see it either.

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eragon Doesn’t Soar

  1. Pingback: Brisingr « Golbing

Leave a Reply

