Sitting in the Bottom Bunk In An Adobe Hut, The YMCA Campemento, Peru

Broken panes of the window above me
send in the cool Pacific breeze
Breathing so alive, animate in dry gold
The scorpions would know the same
It’s the sea they say, and hold to it
Tenuous but wise; no tears in the heat
This is the desert.
But the sand is not totally gold
It’s made of guano and shell
A trembling painting
I am here, in this crazy opposition.
My stay is near its end, what do I leave?
I have never been committed to anything.

7th November, 1984.

My beautiful picture

 

About tgrignon

I came I saw I rented the DVD
This entry was posted in Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sitting in the Bottom Bunk In An Adobe Hut, The YMCA Campemento, Peru

  1. tgrignon says:

    this poem, done as an exercise for my Eng 335 class for Prof. Susan Musgrave, is done in the style of James Wright’s “Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island Minnesota”.

Leave a Reply

