SQL Server database file size

Keeping track of database size and growth is a critical part of a DBA’s job which I wrote about in an earlier blog post. But now I have improved my scripts that reveal the status of all my db files (I say ‘files’ as each SQL Server database is made up of at least two files).
Many of my db’s are set to autogrow but I also have maximum sizes that I allow these to grow. This is important to me because I want to know about out of control database growth and not just let them fill up my storage. So I need to know, periodically, where my db’s are at. The 25% is arbitrary, you can pick any number that works for you. Also, if you have HUGE db’s you may need to adjust the decimal precision for the output.

Here’s my script:

--all dbs over 25% full with sizes too
select db.name as [db_name], mf.name,
'dbSizeinMB' =
cast (cast (mf.size*1.0/128 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30)),
'MaxSizeinMB' =
case mf.max_size
when 0 then 'no growth is allowed.'
when -1 then 'autogrowth is on.'
when 268435456
then 'log file will grow to a maximum size of 2 tb.'
else cast (cast (mf.max_size*1.0/128 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30))
end,
'PercentageSize' =
case mf.max_size
when 0 then 'no growth is allowed.'
when -1 then 'autogrowth is on.'
else cast (cast(((mf.size*1.0)/(mf.max_size*1.0))*100 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30))
end
from sys.master_files mf, sys.databases db
where mf.database_id = db.database_id and ((mf.size*1.0)/(mf.max_size*1.0)*100) > 25.0
order by db.name

Of course you don’t always have time to run a script to check up this so I have a maintenance plan set up with this content that e-mails be the report every day at 6AM:

--all db files over 25% full with sizes too
DECLARE @tableHTML NVARCHAR(MAX) ;

SET @tableHTML =
N'<H1>db file Percentage Size Check</H1>' +
N'<table border="1">' +
N'<tr><th>db_name</th><th>name</th>' +
N'<th>dbSizeinMB</th><th>MaxSizeinMB</th><th>PercentageSize</th></tr>' +
CAST ( ( SELECT td = db.name, '',
td = mf.name, '',
td = cast (cast (mf.size*1.0/128 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30)), '',
td = case mf.max_size
when 0 then 'no growth is allowed.'
when -1 then 'autogrowth is on.'
when 268435456
then 'log file will grow to a maximum size of 2 tb.'
else cast (cast (mf.max_size*1.0/128 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30))
end, '',
td = case mf.max_size
when 0 then 'no growth is allowed.'
when -1 then 'autogrowth is on.'
else cast (cast(((mf.size*1.0)/(mf.max_size*1.0))*100 as decimal(9,2)) as nvarchar(30))
end
FROM sys.master_files mf, sys.databases db
where mf.database_id = db.database_id and ((mf.size*1.0)/(mf.max_size*1.0)*100) > 25.0
order by db.name
FOR XML PATH('tr'), TYPE
) AS NVARCHAR(MAX) ) +
N'</table>' ;

EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail
@profile_name ='My Profile',
@recipients=N'me@provider.com;you@provider.com',
@subject = 'MyServer db files over 25% max size',
@body = @tableHTML,
@body_format = 'HTML' ;

This applies to SQL Server 2005 and newer.

Leave a Reply

